Memphis Assault Lawyer
Have you been charged with assault in Memphis? Sometimes people make mistakes. Other times, people act out of self-defense. Whatever your situation is, assault charges can have severe penalties. Thankfully, a Memphis assault lawyer at Pickford Law is on your side.
At Pickford Law, we believe in second chances. We understand that people make mistakes. That’s why we’re here to defend you against your assault charges, protect your rights, and help you get the charges dropped or the penalties reduced.
If you’ve been charged with assault in Memphis, Tennessee, contact a trusted criminal defense lawyer from Pickford Law for a free consultation today.
Tennessee Assault Statute
In Tennessee, assault is defined as…
“ A person commits assault who:
- Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another;
- Intentionally or knowingly causes another to reasonably fear imminent bodily injury; or
- Intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact with another and a reasonable person would regard the contact as extremely offensive or provocative.” (Code 39-13-201).
Under Tennessee law, assault covers a wide range of actions. Our team of assault lawyers can help you create a defense strategy to fight your criminal charges and reduce your penalties.
Consequences of Assault in Memphis, Tennessee
The consequences you receive for assault in Tennessee depend on the classification of your charge. This means the more severe your crime is, the harsher your penalties can be. Assault is usually classified as a Class A misdemeanor, but if you are charged with aggravated assault, it can be classified as either a Class D or Class C felony. The consequences for assault in Memphis, Tennessee, include:
- Class A misdemeanor: punishable by up to 1 year in prison and/or fines up to $2,500.
- Class D felony: punishable by up to 2 to 12 years in prison
- Class C felony: punishable by up to 3 to 15 years in prison
Assault is often paired with other charges, such as domestic violence. If you face several different criminal charges, you will likely face more severe consequences.
Aggravating and Mitigating Factors for Assault
Aggravating factors are reasons for the judge to increase your sentence. For example, using a deadly weapon to commit assault would be an aggravating factor in a criminal charge. Some other examples of aggravating factors include:
- Having a prior criminal record
- Inflicting serious injuries
- Harming a vulnerable victim
- Committing a hate crime
- Being a leader in a conspiracy
On the other hand, mitigating factors are reasons for the judge to consider reducing your sentence. If you have a clean record, for example, the judge might decide to minimize your penalties. Here are some more examples of mitigating factors a judge would consider:
- Acting from provocation
- Playing a minor role in the crime
- Showing remorse for your actions
- Lacking judgment due to your age
- Acting out of self-defense
The criminal defense lawyers at Pickford Law will use mitigating factors to build your criminal defense in court.
Call Experienced Memphis Criminal Defense Attorneys
If you’ve been arrested or charged with simple assault, sexual assault, aggravated assault, or domestic violence in Memphis, TN, you don’t have to just accept the penalties. Experienced criminal defense attorneys can help you prove your innocence, get your case dismissed, or get your charges reduced.
You don’t have to go through the criminal justice system alone, the legal experts at Pickford Law office are here to help. Contact a criminal defense attorney for a free consultation today.
Free Case Review